A Manifesto – I Think

I want to delete everything…

I am passionate about words. I confess my favorite book is a thesaurus. Every word is different and only one communicates a message perfectly. A thesaurus never fails to shine light on just the right word – for me. at the time.

Times change, feelings change, and “perfect” may nose-dive to “mediocre” or even “Whiskey, Tango, Foxtrot” in short-order. One moment a piece of writing feels “spot-on”, “fun”, even “brilliant”, or “just-right” and the next moment it just doesn’t feel the same.

On the positive, the feeling often passes and the piece feels right, again. Those times, when the feeling doesn’t pass –

I want to delete everything.

I won’t. I won’t give in to perfectionism. I won’t let my writing be a reflection of me. My writing is simply a reflection of a moment in time. In that moment, under those conditions, influenced by that prompt – the piece felt right. It stays – I think

8 thoughts on “A Manifesto – I Think”

  1. Hi d Marie. Writing is my life no deleting for me each poem is my art form though I can improve still like to see what my mind has already created! Thank you for wanting to follow my poetry adventures. Besides writing I like all things paranormal and observing life. So nice to meet you. Peace and Best Wishes. The Foureyed Poet.

    Like

  2. I love this post. I always want to delete everything. I don’t want to be criticized or put myself out there. I was told all my life that I was not a writer. I’m mathy. Thanks for being honest. It gives me courage. Two blog posts written and it was such a struggle to press POST.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know how you feel, Mathy! You’re welcome 🙂 I’m so happy for you that you’ve started to post. Keep going, and going, and the going some more… Looking forward to reading your work!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

