Curiosity

On a day much like yesterday
In a yard of fresh cut grass
Huddled a dove in her nest of twigs

An exquisite taupe color
sporadic spots like black diamonds
button eyes and a long slender beak

She stared at me, motionless
As I crouched down to her level
noticing a jagged flaxen shell

I stepped aside for a moment
She abruptly flew from her roost
Maybe she sensed my curiosity

I snatched up the chance and
peered in again, I found
a fuzzed hatchling
grey and perhaps yellow
awaiting his momma’s return

~ dMarie

Leave a Reply

